Tags

Ok, so I recently bought these shoes for myself as a shoe to wear at work, but also for cross training since I found out that you’re not supposed to use a running show for cross training. I don’t know the specifics, but it has something to do with the fact that a running shoe is made for forward motion while a cross training shoe is made for side ways motion as well as forward and backward motion (or something like that). Anyway, I love these shoes so much that I decided to review them on REI.com. In case you’re in the market for some new shoes, running or cross training, check out these minimalist shoes, they are great for almost anything. 

The Merrell Pace Glove cross-training shoes feature a lightweight minimalist design that helps protect feet and allows them to move naturally.

5out of 5

Sizing: Feels true to size

Width: Feels true to width

Arch Type: Average Arch

Pros: Stylish, Good Traction, Comfortable, Lightweight

Best Uses: Strength Training, Work, Running, Gym, Walking, Pavement

Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete

Was this a gift?: No

I really like these shoes due to the fact that I can wear while I’m out running errands, lifting weights at the gym, or while I’m at work.

I work retail and am on my feet for about 8 hours a day. In the past I have gone for shoes that have a lot of padding and support, but found that they didn’t help much. After reading other reviews of different minimalist shoes and seeing that others have felt that minimalist type shoes have helped to alleviate pain, I decided to give them a try.

Being that I have a wide foot I wasn’t sure that the Pace Glove would fit since it looked a bit narrow, but when I got to the store and tried it on I found it to fit like a glove (no pun intended). When I got the shoes home I wore them around the house for a few days to help my muscles get used to them (like Merrell recommends) and then I decided to try them out at work. I was impressed by how cool and comfortable my feet felt all day while I hustled around the store. I was even more impressed when I got home at the end of the day and sat down and realized that not only did my feet not hurt, but neither did my legs or knees.

Overall, the one thing that isn’t so pleasant is the fact that the footbed tends to collect dead skin and dirt (since I wear them without socks) causing the shoes to get stinky and stick to the bottom of my feet. While Merrell says the shoes can be put into the washing machine and run through on the gentle cycle, I want them to look new as long as possible and intend to avoid that as long as possible. Instead of putting them in the washing machine I used an old toothbrush and some anti-bacterial soap to gently remove the debris from the footbed and then let them air dry overnight. The footbed is no longer stinky or sticky and looks good as new!

These shoes are stylish and I always get compliments on them. I love these shoes so much that I purchased a second pair in a different color (I have the Crystal and the Lavender). My next step is to take them on a run and see how it goes.